home | contact
Indian Society of Coastal Agricultural Research
About Society Executive Council Publication Membership Regional Chapters Seminar / Symposium Awards & Recognition
Registration No:T/40093 1982-83
Awards & Recognition

During the11th National Symposium following Awards and Recognition was conferred-

A. ISCAR Fellows were conferred to

a. Dr Somnath Roy Chowdhury, Principal Scientist, ICAR-Indian Institute of Water Management, Bhubaneswar

B. Dr. J. S. P. Yadav Memorial Lecture

Dr. H. S. Sen delivered first Dr. J.S.P. Yadav Memorial lecture on ‘Coastal zones: Ecology and Climate Change Need Concerted Attention for Sustained Productivity’ on 14th January 2016.

C. Dr J. S. P. Yadav Best Paper Award was conferred to the paper titled ‘Bulk soil electrical conductivity for coastal salt affected soils of West Bengal’ by U. K. MandalD. Burman, K K Mahanta, S K Sarangi, S. Mandal, B. Maji and B. K. Bandyopadhyay, published in JISCAR 33(1):11-18.

D. Dr H. S. Sen Best Poster Award was conferred to the paper titled ‘Performance study of a low cost manually operated seed drill for sowing of jute’ by R. K. Naik, A. K. Ghorai, S. K. Jha and S. Sarkar.

E. Early Career Researcher’ Award

Early Career Researcher’s Award was conferred to R. Renuka for the paper titled ‘Investigation of salinity tolerance mechanisms in the halophytes, Clerodendrum inerme’ co-authored with N. D. Pawar, S. R. Datta, V. R. Revathy and M. Raveendran.


Fellows of the Society


This award is bestowed on distinguished members of the Society for their outstanding contributions and dynamic leadership in Research & Planning for augmenting agricultural production in the coastal areas. The award comprises of a certificate, a citation and a memento. Nominations are invited from members of the society for the award. The nominated scientist should be a life member of the society. Nominations must be proposed and seconded by a member of the society.  The nominations are scrutinized by a selection committee headed by the president of the Society and the award is generally conferred at the next Seminar/Symposium of the Society. Not more than two fellows shall be selected in a year.

Fellows of the Society

Sl. No. Name Affiliation
1. Late Dr. J. S. P. Yadav
Ex-President, ISCAR ex-chairman ASRB, New Delhi ex-Vice Chancellor, Haryana Agricultural University and ex-Director, CSSRI, Karnal
2. Dr. S. B. Kadrekar
Ex-Vice Chancellor, Konkan Krishi Vidyapeeth, Dapoli and Patron, ISCAR
3. Dr. A. K. Bandyopadhyay
ex-Director, CARI, Port Blair and President, ISCAR
4. Dr. Mangala Rai
Ex-Secretary, DARE, Govt. of India and Ex- Director General, ICAR, New Delhi
5. Dr. I. C. Mahapatra
Ex-Vice Chancellor, OUAT, Bhubaneswar
6. Dr. K. Pradhan
Ex-Vice Chancellor, OUAT, Bhubaneswar and ex-Vice President, ISCAR
7. Dr. H. S. Sen
Ex--Director, CRIJAF, Barrackpore and Vice-President, ISCAR
8. Dr. S. Raman
Navsari Agricultural University, Navsari
9. Dr. I. V. Subba Rao
Ex-Vice Chancellor, ANGRAU, Hyderabad and Vice President, ISCAR
10. Dr. N. K. Tyagi
Ex-Director, CSSRI, Karnal Member, ASRB, New Delhi
11. Dr. B. K. Bandyopadhyay
Officer-in-charge, CSSRI, RRS-Canning and Secretary, ISCAR
12. Dr. B. Gangwar
Project Director, PDCSR, Modipuram
13. Dr. V. Rajagopal
Ex-Director, CPCRI, Kasaragod
14. Dr. G. G. Rao
Jt. Director, CSSRI, RRS, Bharuch
15. Dr. S. Edison
Ex-Director, CTCRI, Thiruvananthapuram
16. Dr. I. K. Girdhar
Principal Scientist, NRCG, Junagadh
17. Dr. Dipak Sarkar
Director, NBSS&LUP, Nagpur and Vice-President, ISCAR
18. Dr. S. Ghosal Chowdury
19. Dr Vijay Mehta
Vice Chancellor, Dr BSKKV 
20. Dr S K Gupta 
Project Coordinator 
21. Dr D. Burman 
Senior Scientist, CSSRI, RRS, Canning Town (WB) 
22. Dr. S. K. Ambast 
Head, Division of NRM 
23. Dr Buddheswar Maji Head, Central Soil Salinity Research Institute, Regional Research Station, Canning Town, West Bengal
24. Dr D K Sharma Director, Central Soil Salinity Research Institute, Karnal, Haryana
25. Dr. K. D. Patil Khar Land Scientist, Khar Land Research Station, Panvel, Raigad, Maharashtra.


Distinguished members of the Society who have helped the Society by their sustained and excellent service and hard work are felicitated by the Society from time to time to honour them. The award carries a certificate, a citation and a memento. The award is generally conferred on the selected member at the next Seminar/Symposium of the Society.

Felicitated Member

Mr. S. K. Dutt Ex-Principal Scientist, CSSRI, RRS-Canning and Member, Executive Council, ISCAR

Dr. J. S. P. Yadav Best Paper Award

The Indian Society of Coastal Agricultural Research (ISCAR) has introduced the "Dr. J. S. P. Yadav Best Paper Award" to the author(s) for the best research paper published in its journal. The quality of the paper including the originality of scientific information, innovation, field applicability etc. will form the criteria for selection of the award. The best research paper will be selected by a panel of experts. The panel will be selected by the President of the society and will be valid for two years. The final recommendation of the committee will be placed before the Executive Council for its approval. This award is for one paper only in every two years, published during the period, starting from 1993. A token cash amount will be awarded to one or a group of authors for one paper. In addition to the cash award, a certificate and a citation will be given to the awardee. The awardee will be requested to present the paper as a special 'Award Lecture' in the subsequent seminar to be organized by the society.

During the 9th National Symposium Dr J. S. P. Yadav Best Paper Award was conferred to the paper titled 'Land Shaping Techniques to Alleviate Salinity and Waterlogging Problems of Mon-cropped Coastal Lands for Multi-crop Cultivation' authored by Dr B. K. Bandyopadhyay, Dr D. Burman, Dr. S. K. Sarangi, Dr Subhasis Mandal and Dr A. R. Bal.

During the10th National Symposium Dr J. S. P. Yadav Best Paper Award was conferred to the paper titled ‘Reclamation of coastal waterlogged wasteland through biodrainage’ by S. K. Jena, N. Sahoo, S. Roy Chowdhury, R. K. Mohanty, D. K. Kundu, M. S. Behera, D. U. Patil and Ashwani Kumar.

Dr. H. S. Sen Best Poster Presentation Award

The award is given for the best poster presentation at the Seminar/Symposium of the Society. A committee is nominated during the seminar to go through the poster presentations at that seminar and select the best poster presentation. The award carries a certificate, a citation and token cash award. The award is conferred at the plenary session of the seminar.

During the 9th National Symposium Dr H. S. Sen Best Poster Award was conferred to the paper titled 'Nutrient Management in Rice-Lentil-Sesame Cropping System for Sustainable Productivity in Coastal Agro-climatic Zone of West Bengal' by Dr Kaushik Brahmachari, Gautam Saha, Subarna Roychoudhury, shouvik Dutta, Puja Ghosh and Shruti Karmakar.

During the10th National Symposium Dr H. S. Sen Best Poster Award was conferred to the paper titled Salt tolerance of bacteria isolated from the rhizosphere soil of halophytes and other salt tolerant plant species from coastal Gujarat’ by Riddhi M. Mehta, Sanjay Arora and Meghna J. Vanza.

Young Scientist Award

The executive council of the society is actively working out the modalities of this award. The formal institution of this award will be announced very soon.

All right reserved by ISCAR, 2011